Wednesday Writings

The last two years I’ve attempted NaNoWriMo. I say attempted as I’ve never successfully written a novel. The idea for writing has always been stuck in my head, and has been pulled out recently from a friend whom I write stories for on occasion. Anyways, I’m sure my writing can improve, so I thought I could do weekly “journal” entries to help improve my writing, or at least make it so it exists longer than 30 days a year.

Now the prompts I’m going to use will vary (no, I don’t have a list per se, although I did find a monthly prompt to use …) so if you have suggestions, feel free to let me know.


My first prompt comes from It’s a Yummy Life (click on her name for a link to the blog post – I found her via Pinterest). So my plan is to use the monthly prompts as a starting basis. So, without further ado, here’s January…

  1. What is your number one goal this year?
    Well, that would be easy – to lose weight! I originally gained the weight about 9 years ago and have been on/off in trying to get it off. On the plus side, I have improved my eating aspect. Is it the best? Probably not, but its better than it was. I am happy to say there are two packages of double-stuf oreo’s (my weakness) sitting on my kitchen counter still unopened. And to think I’d down a package in less than a week a year ago. How’s that for progress!
  2. What are you most grateful for?
    Family. I know its a cop-out, but I don’t know where I’d be without them. I’d have to go into more detail than I care to share on this blog, but let’s just say my family is the reason I’m not on the street begging for money or drinking my sorrows away.
  3. Are you content?
    Yes. Are there things I would change? Of course – who doesn’t have something they would want to change. But I do think I’m in a good place right now. I can see where things can improve, but I can easily see things going downhill just as fast.
  4. What is your best memory of last year?
    Being able to see family. This goes with my saddest memory as well, as the time I saw them was centered around the passing of my maternal grandfather last February. My mom has lived in Australia for the past three years, so any time I get to see her in person is a highlight of my life now.
  5. What was the last major accomplishment you had?
    It’s one I’m in the process of getting better at, but learning to drive a stick  shift (otherwise known as a manual). It’s true, I never learned how to drive a stick. But as my car is in need of repair and money is hurting, as well as my husband’s lack of energy due to it being winter, it was learning to drive or send my husband even further into his depression. I chose the lesser of the two evils. I do still stall, but I am improving. Come on – I survived driving in the rain today!
  6. What possession could you not live without?
    A computer or phone. I do not live anywhere near my family (I think the closest relative is like four hours away – my parents are across the ocean) and my husband’s family is either not nearby or not in the best health, so having the ability to communicate is so important to me. The internet and storage the computer provides, and the ability to capture the world through the phone’s camera are more pluses.
  7. Can people change?
    I believe they can. My family is proof of that. I know that I am different than I was years ago. I even see improvement in my husband just in the past year. So yeah. Can they change in an instant? Maybe not. It takes time.
  8. What is the last “good” thing you ate?
    My husband and I had received a gift card for Yard House and went there for lunch just last week, and I did enjoy my meal – salad and turkey club w/ no avocado. Yum! 🙂 Otherwise, I’d have to say BJ’s, as that’s a common place when we want to go out and I like their pizza and pizookie. Both places have a very good selection of beer as well.
  9. What is your current favorite snack?
    I’m actually in a transition phase. Before I’d have to say double-stuf oreo’s, but now I’m trying to move into mini-candy bars or smoothies/ice cream with chocolate syrup. Either way, it has to have chocolate. I need my fix!
  10. What made you smile today?
    I work as a library tech in a K-8 school, and am offering students in 3-8 the opportunity to come in during recess/lunch to come help in the library (and get an insight as to what a librarian does), and seeing the response of interested students is something to smile about. It’s nice when the kids want to hang out with you instead of being on the playground. Getting some likes on my photo-a-day post is pretty awesome too.
  11. What’s your favorite accessory?
    Besides my phone, I’d have to say my fitbit. It’s motivating even when I don’t want to move to get those little bit of extra steps before I go to sleep. “Look hubby, I wasn’t a complete couch potato! I got 3,000 steps today!” (Yep, that’s how you know I didn’t have to work and just plopped in front of the computer.)
  12. What is making you mad?
    Hubby, as he isn’t fixing my car fast enough. I want my car back! I know, it rained today, but still!
  13. What did you have for dinner today?
    Hubby (the chef in the relationship) made a tortilla-style soup, veggie of course as my brother-in-law (who lives with us) is a vegetarian and I’m a semi-vegetarian. (I haven’t completely given up meat, but only eat it like 2-3 days in a normal week or prepared a certain way.)
  14. What did you get done?
    I have continued my exercise and photo-taking streak! I also cleared some library shelves to make room for more books (moving books from another room to the library for storage) and organized some other books in preparation to put them away (they aren’t put away – there’s a lot of them! – but they are in a more organized pile which will make putting them away tomorrow faster).
  15. Who last called you on the phone?
    I don’t know – it was a number I didn’t recognize, so I didn’t answer it. I admit, if I don’t recognize the phone number I ignore the call. So if you happen to call me and I don’t respond, please text or leave a voicemail so I know who you are and don’t think you are a collector/telemarketer.
  16. Who are you in love with?
    My husband. This summer will be our 10th year together (11th if you ask him – a story for another day of how we met), and this April will be our 7th year of marriage. It has certainly had its downs and ups, but I’m happy with it overall.
  17. What are  you grateful for?
    Rain! California desperately needs the water, especially the agriculture. I’m not a huge fan of driving in it, but its nice to see it.
  18. The best part of today was _____.
    Being at work. Seriously! I love working at a school. It has its frustrating moments, but not a day goes by that the kids don’t make me smile in some way. I knew it growing up and anyone who knew my goals back then probably wouldn’t be surprised that I ended up working with kids. I’m not kidding. I grew out of the children’s department at church and went back in as a helper.
  19. My current favorite website is _____.
    Besides facebook, pinterest, instagram, and sparkpeople? I’d have to go with Fat Mum Slim – Chantelle is the creator of the photo-a-day that I have been doing since at least 2012 and she just posted a pasta recipe I wanna make now.
  20. What was the hardest thing you’re dealing with?
    My husband. He has un-diagnosed autism/asperger’s so learning to live with him and how his disorder is expressed is a challenge. But we are both improving, so yay!
  21. Today I wish I had more _____.
    Time and energy! Going from work to the gym, then taking a picture for my photo prompt, not to mention shower and blogging. I did watch the recorded Bachelor show from yesterday as I was eating dinner, but sometimes it feels as though that is my free time when I’m not working on some other task. And I don’t even have kids yet! Imagine how hectic my life will be then!
  22. Tomorrow will be better because _____.
    It’s half-way through! Not quite as much on my to-do list easier, so I’ll hopefully feel I have more down time. Who knew life could be exhausting!
  23. What made today unusual?
    Hubby’s soup was a new thing that he made, but otherwise, it was a normal day as far as I’m concerned. Nothing to out of the ordinary.
  24. What are you looking for from life?
    To survive! Seriously, I’d like to live as long as I can and not feel like something’s undone when it is my time to go. I’d also like my husband to stick around with me through most of my remaining days.
  25. What is your favorite thing to drink?
    soda – Mountain Dew; alcohol – wine; smoothie – strawberry banana w/ chocolate syrup added; milkshake – chocolate; juice – apple; other beverage of choice – sweet tea and coffee
  26. Today the temperature was _____.
    Rainy, but not too cold. The rain made me need a jacket when I was out for long periods, but just walking from my library to the office or a classroom with covering, I was just able to walk out in my long-sleeve shirt.
  27. What was the last thing that made you roll your eyes?
    One of the characters on The Bachelor who always wanted to talk to Ben and complained about him not looking at her (if you’ve seen the episode, I’m sure you’ll know who I’m talking about). Also, probably something posted on facebook of someone being stupid (you know those posts when you’re like “really?”)
  28. Tomorrow I will _____.
    See other library techs. It’s our monthly get-together. I also get to see my first kinder class of the week. I have to admit, I have zero desire to ever teach kindergarten, but its one of my favorite grades to read to cause they are always excited about my book choice, no matter what it is. I think just the excitement of coming to the library is enough for them.
  29. What was your last major purchase?
    Parts for my computer. We are trying to upgrade it to make it faster, give me more memory, and be able to run windows 10. Plus it’ll make playing Guild Wars 2 faster and better.
  30. My house is a home because _____.
    There is kitty fur everywhere! Seriously! How can a house not be a home with out a furry creature to share it with! It is nice first moving in though, as Sarabi, our older and more tempermental cat, is way more cuddly as its unfamiliar to her.
  31. I love _____ the most.
    I’m going to say music right now, only because there’s always something to match your mood and listening to it can evoke so many emotions from people and its something I constantly listen to. (I can’t stand quiet!) It can cause us to remember so many things, and can even prompt us to do something. For example, when I hear a piece from a movie enough times, I feel like I just have to see that movie. Or those songs where as soon as you hear them, these memories and emotions come flooding into your mind. I swear it would be possible to tell someone your day just by giving them a playlist if you tried hard enough.
Leave a Reply

