WW: 10 Things

Oops, just realized (at about 10pm) that I haven’t written, or posted this yet today, so late, but here you go…

I found a “30 day” wrting prompt list that I think will work, so I’m going to do that in between my monthly themed prompts (like last week’s). This week, the prompt will be “List 10 things that make you really happy.”

  1. Disney – I am a Disney fan. I love the movies, I love the park (singular form, as I’ve only been to Disneyland/California Adventure), I love the channel, the artists they bring to the spotlight, the music, the store (walking around the Disney store is a stop I always make when I go to a mall) … I have and still would love to work for Disney. I actually applied once when I lived in So Cal, but wasn’t accepted 😦 My favorite character of all times is Winnie-the-Pooh and my favorite movie is Beauty and the Beast. I think the reason I love Disney so much is that it is okay with my inner child showing. One reason I like this quote from Walt Disney: “Why do we have to grow up? I know more adults who have the children’s approach to life. They’re people who don’t give a hang what the Joneses do. You see them at Disneyland every time you go there. They are not afraid to be delighted with simple pleasures, and they have a degree of contentment with what life has brought – sometimes it isn’t much, either.”
  2. Kids – I’ve spent my whole live surrounded by kids. I was one, then once I grew out of the children’s department in church I went back in as a helper. I even remember in 2nd and 3rd grade, when we were home-schooled, I’d take extra materials from the previous year or that mom was done with and play “school”. Even then being a teacher was a job I wanted to do. No, I’m not teaching, not exactly. I’m not a classroom teacher, but I do teach every week – library skills when students come for a weekly visit to the library. I love how innocent kids are and how they are excited about simple things. I could feel so yucky and down, but going to work and being around the students, my mood can’t help but perk up. Yep, I’m one of those that think some breaks are too short, cause I don’t have kids to look forward to be able to brighten my spirits.
  3. Music – Music has definitely been a part of my life. I have played violin, sang in choir, and even made up my own lyrics (and let me tell you, I am never going to win an award for song writing). I love how music can go with anything that is happening in our lives, be it instrumental or with words you can always find something that conveys what is happening in yourself and around you. It makes you feel like maybe you are part of a musical sometimes (at least to me).
  4. Photography – I think it is awesome being able to show people what you see in your head, and for me, the best way to do that, besides music, is through a photo. It’s like a captured moment in time, something you can look back and remember. And the things people take pictures of show you what’s important to them. I mean, if it wasn’t, why would they bother pressing the shutter button?
  5. Family – We may be far apart and have had arguments (and will continue to), but I love my family so much. They are a huge part of me, both my immediate and extended. I didn’t grow up with my extended family nearby. My dad was in the military in my early years, and the closest we lived near (my paternal grandparents) was a day’s drive away, so the trip was only made for vacations like Christmas or Thanksgiving or Spring break. But even without that, I still felt a part of them. I have a letter in my scrapbook from my maternal grandmother, where she shares that she also liked to look at clouds and find shapes. She also flew my and my siblings to see her when we turned 10 (I think) for our own month with Grandma. I have one grandparent who always sent a $2 bill and a stick of big red gum. My maternal grandmother is so crafty, painting pictures and has made me two quilts (one for my 10th birthday I think, the other when I went away for college and moved into the dorm room). I have my mom’s youngest sister to thank for a few items in my wardrobe, as I have a few of her hand-me-downs. I can’t imagine my life without family in it…
  6. Kitties – I have two cats that I call my own – Sarabi and Midnight. In addition, there are six other cats that call my house home, maybe a seventh depending on how you look at it. Sarabi and Midnight especially I see as extensions of my husband and I. I see bits of us in them, Sarabi with her temperament and Midnight with her ability to turn anything into a play toy. At the same time, they are great at interpreting and calming moods. It seems that whenever my husband is being particularly moody, he can usually be found later curled up on the bed, cuddling a cat. Personally, I think their magic is in their purrs.
  7. While we’re on the subject, I’ll go ahead and make this one about him – my husband. We had a rough start. Within our first six months, I’m sure my husband was close several times to calling it off (I was pretty clingy). I wasn’t even sure how long we’d last when we started out. But somehow, we’ve made it through it. This approaching summer will be our 10th year together (wow! has it really been that long?). We have certainly had our ups and downs, but I think it has been good for both of us. I know I’ve been good in his life, but I think he’s also been good for me too. He’s definitely my best friend first and foremost, and one of the people I think who really understands me the most. And I’m one of the few that has been able to get close to him as well.
  8. Books/Movies – I’m going to put these two together because I like them for the same reason – their ability to transport you from this world to some other place and time. It is so easy to get caught up in what you are reading/watching and actually become the thing in front of you. And just like music, they can evoke emotions and memories inside us and give us a way to share those with others.
  9. Camp – I’m going to get a little more specific with that broad word and specifically say “scout camp.” I have worked, as of this moment, 12 summers at three different scout camps. Scout camp is where I really started questioning the world and discovering who I was and what I thought. It’s where I’ve seen the most diverse group of people share a bond. (Think about the show Glee, how the main show choir started with this group of outcasts that bonded – that’s what summer camp staff looks like, except they are bonded not by music, but by giving their campers an experience of a lifetime.) I’ve had some firsts at scout camp as well. Its also where I met my husband and married him (not the same camp). Attending camp and working it will give you an experience unlike any other in this world, and I would not trade my summers for anything else. I feel so lucky to be able to have a job that has the summers off so I can continue working at a camp, cause I’m not sure what I would do when I have to give up that part of my life.
  10. Unknown – I’m stumped on this one. I’m going to have to answer “the unknown” makes me happy. Yes, it has me worried, but I know it will bring me joy as well. The unknown is the future, but its also that gift that hasn’t been given yet, the life event that changes you, the person who will touch you that you haven’t met yet. It’s exciting to see it unfold, but it’s also scary cause it may break you down first before it lifts you up. But hey, that is life – scary, exciting, and thrilling all at the same time. (Okay, I’m starting to feel like I’m quoting something, but I can’t think from where …)

Okay … A bit into what makes me happy. What about you? What makes you happy?

Leave a Reply

