If I Was Your Girl

One of my goals this year is to complete a reading challenge. Click here to see the details of the challenge.

Below is my review from Goodreads for the book If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo. This book falls under the “book nominated for an award in 2017” as it is one of the Stonewall winners in the Children’s and Young Adult Literature category.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If I Was Your GirlIf I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A YA novel about a transgender girl, written by a transgender girl, but still a message anyone can relate to, about realizing that everyone is hiding something, and we all deserve the chance to love, and be loved, both by ourselves, and by others.

I liked how every few chapters the author would go back in time in Amanda’s life. Our past may hurt, but the good and bad things help shape our future self. I don’t think Amanda would have been as strong her senior year in her new town if she had an easy process.

Here’s some quotes/passages I liked in the book that I think are universal to anyone …
1) “Everyone around me, I realized, was living some kind of lie…Maybe secrets and lies were a part of life; maybe everyone had something they were lying to themselves about, or something they were hiding.” -pg 89
2) “You can have anything…once you admit you deserve it.” – pg 180
3) “For as long as I could remember, I had been apologizing for existing, for trying to be who I was, to live the life I was meant to lead. … I realized, I wasn’t sorry I existed anymore. I deserved to live. I deserved to find love. I knew now-I believed, now-that I deserved to be loved.” – pg 273

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

