Teachers Write 7.10 & 7.11

This summer I decided to participate in Teachers Write. It’s hosted by authors Kate Messner, Gae Polisner, Jo Knowles, blogger/educator Jen Vincent, and guest authors popping in from time to time. I joined because its designed for teachers, librarians, and other folks who work with kids who also like to write and want to learn to improve their writing.

I’ve recently (within the last few years) picked up writing, including participating in NaNoWriMo a few times (though I’ve never written a novel-length during it). I’ve completed one novel-size story officially (don’t bother looking for it in stores though as I’m not planning on publishing at this point); the rest falls under the short-story category in length.

Anyways, up to this point there’s only been one person who’s really read my writing. But as Gae and Nora Raleigh Baskin pointed out in their joint blog post last Friday, the process of writing is not complete until someone reads it.

Hmm. Makes sense. So, with that statement, I’ve decided that as a first time Teachers Write participant, I was going right off the deep end and was going to participate full-on. That means sharing my writing from the beginning. And to be honest, it’s a scary idea, not knowing how people are going to respond. But here I am, sharing another part of my life and soul with the world. Just one request – please don’t hurt it too bad.

So, the plan is to share my small bits of writing that correspond with the various lessons. Ideally I’d be doing this daily, but being realistic, I will at least shoot for once a week. Feel free to let me know what you think and some constructive criticisms that can help improve my writing or the scene.

For starters, you have my small blurbs from Monday and Tuesday… Enjoy!


Mini-Lesson Monday: Another View of the World:

Taylor stepped outside the building she had been in for the last several hours and closed her eyes, taking in the smell and sounds around her; the salty air of the ocean blowing against her face, the horn of a nearby ship getting ready to take sail, the cry of a young child who was too scared to board the large ship, the seagulls trying to find scraps for food among the crowds, the hot humidity of a Florida summer day against her skin. She opened her eyes and brought her camera up to capture the huge boat in front of her, her home for the next several days.


Tuesday Quick-Write with Phil Bildner:

Two different perspectives —

“Only one row left of classrooms to clean. Good thing the kids will be gone Thursday. Man, I hope those two girls won’t come sneaking around and ask their questions and just let me do my job,” the custodian thought as he started to clean the first classroom of the day.

“It’s f-ing summer. Why do I have to be at school?” Angelique thought as she walked down the street. “Who cares if I learn to read? I don’t even like reading. Seriously? They make us go to school during the school year and then take away our summer too? God! I just want to be in bed.” When she got to the bus stop, she pulled her phone from her back pocket and scrolled through facebook until the bus pulled up. The bus hissed as it came to a stop and when the doors opened, Angelique climbed on taking a quick scan of the kids on board, chose to sit next to Nataly.

“So, you think Juan’s going to show up?” Nataly asked as Angelique sat next to her.

“Don’t know. He sent me a snapchat last night,” Angelique replied, pulling the app up on her phone to show her the pic of him with the dog filter. The girls laughed at the sight before lifting the phone in front of them for a selfie.

One thought on “Teachers Write 7.10 & 7.11

  1. Two more snippets from Tuesday that only you lovely blog readers get to read 🙂

    “One more day,” thought Brandon as he walked into his classroom. “Oh wait, I’ve got that guy from the county coming to observe me tomorrow. Yeah, come on the last day of school and you see kids taking a test and playing. Whatever. I guess I can do a small lesson for review to show off.” As he started setting up the classroom for the day, his eyes caught the sight of Kayla’s name tag. “Poor girl. Hope she’s feeling better today.”

    “Did you see that show last night?” Abby asked her co-worker as they entered the classroom.

    “Yeah, what a cliffhanger! I didn’t expect him to be a zombie!” Jason replied.

    “Alright guys, let’s get started,” Jessica called out. It was the last week of summer school and their morning meeting was called to order. “How are the kids with learning the dance?” she asked Abby.

    “I think they’ll do as expected by Thursday,” she responded.

    “And the cooking challenge?” Jessica asked, turning to Jason.

    “If no one cuts themselves, I’ll count it a good day,” he smiled.

    The students at their site would be meeting up with the rest of the district that Thursday for an ‘end-of-summer-school’ shindig. As part of the end of summer shindig, the students at all school sites were expected to learn a part of a dance for one of those spontaneous dance numbers at some point on Thursday. As well, each student was learning about cooking to participate in a kind-of Chopped cooking challenge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

