My Family for the War

Catch-up 2 of 2 …

This book won the Mildred J. Batchelder Award, which is awarded to an American publisher for a translated title. My Family for the War was originally written in German, and the original title was Liverpool Street.

This book I am putting under the section for “a book in translation”, though it could easily fall under “a book about a topic or subject you already love” as I enjoy fiction children/young adult novels that center around the Holocaust and Jews in hiding during that time. That topic became popular in my head after reading The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank in high school.

My Family for the WarMy Family for the War by Anne C. Voorhoeve

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

One historical fiction topic I enjoy reading about are those of children during the Holocaust period. It started with ‘The Diary of Anne Frank’. I was looking for a book that had been translated into English for a reading challenge and seeing this on the Batchelder list of award-winning translated novels, my interest peaked and it was at the top of my ‘to-read’ list.

I imagine the struggle Ziska/Frances had as she grew to love her foster-family is one that many Jewish children experienced during WWII, but also one I think that children in foster families or who are adopted must feel also – that torn feeling of wanting to be loyal to their birth family, but also a new-found loyalty to their foster-family.

Never having gone through war time or being torn from my family, it is not something I can relate to personally, but I still admire those who go through those struggles and come out on top.

There were two passages, or words of advise, that stuck with me …

1) The first is from Ziska/Frances’ friend Professor Schueler when she tells him about her dead father and missing foster-father, and her regret of not working harder to bring her parents to a safer country. It is part of his advice in response to her parents sending her away – “Live! And live well!”

2) The second is in the second to last paragraph of the book as Ziska/Frances and her family remember the dead – “We belong to those who live with the dead. They depend on us. As long as I have a voice and as long as there is someone listening, I will name them, and tell our story.”

Leave a Reply

