Teachers Write – A Letter to Myself

Teachers Write officially ended yesterday (Friday). As you can tell from my blog posts, I wasn’t as active at the end as I was in the beginning, though I did still read each post. All in all, I do feel it was a worth-while experience and I learned things through it, about myself as a writer and about writing in general. I’m excited to find ways to share it with my school site, teachers and students both.

The last prompt from Kate was to write a letter to ourselves before we started this four-week journey. Below is mine…

~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Stephanie,

You are about to embark on a scary journey – sharing your writing for the first time with the world. Sure you’ve shared it to a few people, but now you will share small paragraphs for anyone on the internet to see.

I know, it seems scary. You’re wondering if people will listen to what you have to say. You are wondering how supportive people will be. You are wondering if what you have to those jumbled letters on paper are even worth sharing.

Let me assure you that yes, people do want to hear what you have to say. And this group is the perfect group to begin sharing with, as they are just as scared as you. And because it’s a community of educators, they understand that people learn by making mistakes. And yes, people are curious how you make jumbled letters into something worth reading.

You may not participate in all the prompts. You may not even get far in your own story during this time frame. But I will promise you that at the end, you will feel as though you made some progress and learned something, and yes, you will want to do it again.

You will fall even more in love with writing and will start planning on how to share what you’ve read and learned from the various authors, both with the students at your school as well as the teachers.

So get ready … and WRITE!

Stephanie

Leave a Reply

